Sweet-Smelling Symbols


I am so aware of flowers these days, even in the dark. Although I cannot see them, I can smell the perfume of my flowers flowing through open windows, chasing away the stale air of winter. It seems to me that we traditionally surround the grieving with  beauty in the form of flowers because they are living, sweet-smelling symbols of the beauty which surrounds their departed in heaven. Flowers soothe all of our senses and touch out inner spirits with a touch of heaven on earth.

Dating as far back as 1580 B.C., these flowers have long-held a role in ancient mythology.  White lilies symbolize chastity and virtue. Of course they are the symbol of the Virgin Mary’s purity and her role as  Queen of the Angels.  As the flowers most often associated with funerals, lilies  still symbolize that the soul of the departed has received restored innocence after death. No wonder we fill churches and our homes with lilies for Easter, as we celebrate Christs’ victory over death.

If we cannot speak,  flowers will speak for us. So, I offer this bouquet up for all those who grieve today in Oklahoma but also for all those who are grieving in obscurity, poverty, hidden from the notice of the world. Flowers tell the grieving that,

“In sorrow, we mourn those lost. In gratitude, we embrace those around us. In sympathy, we reach out to those who grieve.” -Unknown Author

All photos are from

testanghder960_txt

15 thoughts on “Sweet-Smelling Symbols

  1. When we are loss for words, flowers can speak volumes. What lovely pictures. My heart also goes out to the soldier who was hacked to death in broad daylight yesterday in London by 2 men in a terror attack.

    Like

      1. Today’s post is the story of how I came to write Lessons by Heart – and start a blog by the same name.

        We’re going to the coast this weekend to spend some time by the…well, not exactly still…waters. I’m looking forward to having my soul restored!

        I pre-scheduled some posts so I don’t have to take time to write them, that will free up some time to handle the awards. I love them, but the little buggers are time consuming. What with my bro-in-law’s death last week (we’re his only remaining family), time’s been a precious commodity.

        Thanks!
        \o/

        Like

      2. I am of the ilk that you handle them with a spirit of freedom. I have another 6 which I am lumping together,

        THIS IS A WORD FROM GOD

        JUST POST THE AWARDS. DO NOT ANSWER ANY QUESTIONS, LIST A COUPLE OF BLOGGERS. PERIOD.

        Like

Leave a Reply

