10 Tips for Parents from Mother of Nine9


As a mother of nine kids, people often ask me, “How on earth did you manage without any help? “

 ccf02262012_000011.jpg

So I present a list of my top ten tips for a happy family life

 

 .

1.  Focus on the joy of parenting, not on everything we are giving up to raise a family

8UZDF00Z

2. Mothers, remember, we have one of most important jobs in the world because we forming the next generation

 

  3. Accidents, mishaps and ruined plans will happen everyday, so laugh.

 

                                                                   

 

 

4. Praise works; berating  usually backfires. Give good behaviour lots of attention because children WANT our attention and will do anything to get it.

  5. No need to run around like crazy people, putting our children in every single program .                                                                                                                                                                      

6.. Listen to the baby. Read his expressions and body language. In fact become a baby whisper and life will be much calmer.

7.House work comes second; the happiness and welfare of your family comes first. Don’t fight everyone trying to run a perfect home. It is okay to leave a blanket fort or block tower up overnight, when I know they will play all morning with it.

8..Let children learn to do things on their own, like dressing or feeding themselves even if they look a little odd. Their pride will shine brighter than our need to look like a perfect mum.

9. Put our kids needs first . When I ignored their limits of endurance, I created either a clingy shadow or a screaming monster.Then nothing I did or said seemed to help the situation.

 


10.Slow down. Let our little ones set the pace. Stop and look at bugs and pretty weeds .                        

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

38 thoughts on “10 Tips for Parents from Mother of Nine9

    1. I love number 8! Kids can be awkward when learning new things but correcting ‘issues’ that aren’t really issues can be damaging to their self esteem and growth. My three year old went to church with her shoes on the wrong feet Sunday. I knew it, but she was so glad that she got ready herself it was a non-issue with me and luckily no one at church corrected her either 🙂 she’ll figure it out soon enough, but I’m happy for her to keep her confidence to do things herself, after all, it is easier on me too!! Lol

      Like

      1. yep you naturally have the right attitude- don’t inflict your will on a child if it arises out of your own pride and don’t over control, take charge but con’t control-..you just inspired anoother post

        Like

  1. Really great ideals, and I am totally in agreement with you on all of them. I can remember my Mother using most of them in raising all 9 of us. Thanks for sharing. Be Blessed.

    Like

      1. Yes they are, but the problem begins when too many of our Mothers and Fathers do not use common sense.

        Like

  2. Loved them all, but I think my favorite is, “Don’t be afraid to let your children be bored!” Right on, dear Mother of Nine! If anyone should know you should! 😉 Loved the post and God Bless, SR

    Like

  3. My youngest and I did number 8 this afternoon. While gardening I uncovered an ant colony under a huge rock, we sat and watched how quickly and effectively they moved the eggs into the tunnels and away from exposure. Sam wanted to know if she could squish them, so it also presented an opportunity to explain that no we couldn’t. We disturbed their living space, they’re where they should be not in our cabinets pilfering our food or otherwise creating chaos in the house — So no squishing!

    Like

  4. Hmm. If I had to pick my favourite tip, I’d pick all 10. One of the many benefits of raising a large family is having many chances to get right…..in other words, realizing that’s it’s OK to not get it right all the time. Thanks, Melanie.

    Like

  5. Fantastic blog! Being a mother is an amazing gift.

    If you have time, click through and have a look at our blog, ‘Working Better Together’. We aim to create awareness about childhood learning disabilities. Support is essential.

    Like

Leave a Reply

