Discovering Our Own Writing Style


cropped-cropped-cropped-writing-florent_willems_-_the_important_response_-_walters_37140.jpgA reading prompt once challenged me to:

Write about how you choose to write about others in your blog. (Friends, family, etc)

Seriously, does every other writer logically plan out their articles, essays, short stories and books with their left brain? I simply cannot function like that. When an episode or opinion has popped into my brain, I did not consciously choose to write about that topic or person. It was an eureka moment, that surprised me. I wonder,

“Where did that thought or memory come from? I haven’t thought about him for years!”

Suddenly a story springs to mind.  I have assimilated emotions, reflections, connected quotes and philosophy  and integrated it all with my faith. Initially my right brain takes over, creativity flows like a river of words and I can hardly type fast enough to keep up.  The entire process is largely subconscious.  I unwittingly combine spirit  of creativity with a gift to craft words together.  As writers in past centuries called it the muse. Left logical  brain editing follows afterwards. However, if  I  attempt to write the first draft with my logical left brain, the article  is stilted, stunted, boring and painful to read.

Hoping that I am not alone in this approach to writing, I have unearthed some powerful and some outrageously funny quotes on the subject of writing:

I do not plan my fiction any more than I normally plan woodland walks; I follow the path that seems most promising at any given point, not some itinerary decided before entry.”
― John Fowles
“There are three secrets to writing a novel. Unfortunately nobody knows what they are.”
― W. Somerset Maugham
Writing became such a process of discovery that I couldn’t wait to get to work in the morning: I wanted to know what I was going to say. ~Sharon O’Brien”
is the overflow of emotion into action.”
So it seems that I am in good company. I must admit though,  I discovered that many other authors use an outline, plan and work hard at the chore of writing, yet  still managing  to create magic.  If you are the type of writer who must map out what you will write about that day, then please, write with an outline. My point is that when you begin writing, resist the temptation to imitate other writer’s style. Find your own voice. Write from your heart and soul. Write what you are passionate about and your enthusiasm and joy will open the door to  words which connect with your readers. In other words, you will begin the journey to become a great writer
.

Like my post? Please support me by clicking on the Mersi button

Mersi ME!

24 thoughts on “Discovering Our Own Writing Style

  1. I like the quote “There are three secrets to writing a novel. Unfortunately nobody knows what they are.” ― W. Somerset Maugham. Sums it up quite nicely. Goes right with the quote by Douglas Adams about anyone figuring out the rules. Short answer figure it out and the rules they will change. If the left brain is working – sure go for it. If not – go for it with any fragment of the brain that is working ! For me – I will settle for being a good gardener who also wrote… and I will leave out the blooming pun ! Or almost try to leave it out.

    Like

  2. Love this…”Find your own voice. Write from your heart and soul. Write what you are passionate about and your enthusiasm and joy will open the door to words which connect with your readers.”

    I’m not a writer, but you have encouraged me in my painting…same thing…:) Thanks

    Like

  3. I write by the seat of my pants and wait for my characters to tell which direction the story is going – 🙂
    But I am working on one fictional novel (which will end up having to be a series) that I had to start doing character cards and scene cards for, because it makes it easier to re-organize my chapter when needed. (Each character begs me to tell their back story and I just keeping writing what they tell me – had to organize it to make editing easier)

    Like

      1. I started it as a ‘challenge’ from my cousin, who writes zombie-type scripts/fiction – I’ve always stuck to non-fiction, biographical humour type stuff – but not one to back down from challenges, (especially from the guy who taught you to climb trees and not cry when you fell out of the treehouse) I gave it a go and fell in love with my characters – It has been slow going, because the story comes to me in bits and fits, but have enjoyed the process so far…
        🙂

        Like

  4. Love it Melanie, most of my ideas spring from what I see and experience in my day. All great ideas usually come when I don’t have pen or am in the middle of something else. The answer is simple everyone does it differently and thats the beauty of writing.

    Like

  5. Something comes to mind and I tap it out. Then I go back and read through, looking for errors and ways to tighten up what I’ve written. Then I post it. A few days later I go back and actually read what was written. I’m always surprised! 😉

    \o/

    Like

    1. on this blog I try not to use typical Christian and especially not overt Catholic lingo because it is more “secular” than joy of nine9

      On Sat, Jun 22, 2013 at 12:15 AM, Melanie Jean Juneau wrote:

      > they do, trust me > > > On Sat, Jun 22, 2013 at 12:10 AM, mother of nine9 <

      Like

      1. Thanks for the kind words of encouragement. 🙂
        I love both your blogs and other articles. 🙂 I forget which one I’m reading on to tell you the truth as I try to hit them all at different times. You write so well on them all and you are catching whom God wants you to at just the right timing. His. 🙂

        Like

      2. i write so well? you know I just started spitting out that I write, that I am a writer- your words make me relax but weepy with a strange release of pent up pain- the more I simply become myself, the better the words flow

        Like

  6. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog, I really appreciate it and I just followed you, you are a beautiful woman and a lovely mother too + you’ve got lots of interesting articles to read-on on your blog. Good Job.

    Like

Leave a Reply

