On the Edge and Broken


images (25)
a broken paradigm   

Holding a crumbling paradigm together is an exercise in futility

One of my inner images which describes my struggle to surrender control is of a wagon wheel.

This wheel is suspended over a deep chasm,

My large family of 10 is on the rim of a wagon wheel hovering over this chasm,

while I stand on the hub,

frantically turning this way and that

to hold all the broken spokes together.

I KNOW that I must let go of this futile sense of responsibility and control

I am afraid to stop.

I am trapped.

Yet, I realize that

my tension prevents natural, organic growth and healing.

My control acts like a wall, shutting out all divine intervention.

My sincere concern and earnest self-sacrifice actually magnifies everyone’s brokenness,

freezing everyone and everything.

When I finally do surrender control,

the broken spokes are instantly repaired.

The kids and my husband are smiling and healed.

I am free.

It simply took a decade.

 

11 thoughts on “On the Edge and Broken

  1. Melanie going with the ebb and flow of life is hard, we resist and yet when we just let go and watch where our path leads us, we are actually heading in the right direction and everything falls into place. That coming from a control freak like me is too funny, yet I am learning to let go of many things, thanks to children, they teach me every day to trust them and let them test the waters of life. Sometimes I have to have me time, our world will not collapse if I am absent from it for a short time. Everyone survives without me there.

    Like

      1. Im not far behind you, a steady pace at 49 this year. You will be forever young because you have a fantastic sense of playful humour and your children and grandchildren keep you young at heart, I can tell and my mother is the same, she gets younger in the mind every year as she involves herself in her grandchildren’s lives and broaden’s her perspective through their youthful eyes.

        Like

  2. “Let go and let God” sounds so good. It’s not so easy to do though. Only a decade? You’re a fast learner. I’m envious! 🙂

    I cringe when I think of the number of times I’ve stood in the Lord’s way and “fixed” a problem that had degraded to a point where He was *almost* called upon by the other person. 😕

    Thanks for the peek into your past struggles.

    \o/

    Like

Leave a Reply

