Gagging on Overcooked Brussel Sprouts


brussels_sprouts_sad_girlI remember vividly those overcooked lima beans that Great-Aunt Maisy forced my sister and I to eat before we were allowed even a sip of milk.

My great-aunt’s words still ring in my ears,

” There are starving children in Africa who would beg to eat theses beans.”

To which my intellectual, wry-witted great-uncle would mutter under his breath to us,

“Why don’t we package these lima beans up and ship them off to Africa?”

Giggling in conspiratory pleasure, my sister and I managed to gulp the offending beans down by chewing and thus tasting them as little as possible.

Then there is the image, etched into my brain, of a tiny me sitting at the table, trying to shudder down cooked carrots. I was not a picky eater but Lima beans, cooked carrots and canned chicken noodle soup tasted disgusting to my four-year old self. Thank God we’re not in the 1950’s anymore, when parents were told not to spoil or indulge their children by considering their preferences. The standard line was,

” Until you eat everything on your plate, you won’t get another thing to eat!”

The perennial conflict: kids and many adults versus vegetables.

The Canadian Food Guide tells us to eat a huge amount of fruit and veggies, something like 5-10 servings a day. How on earth do you coerce a tiny child to eat all those vegetables? At least we now stir fry veggies so they are still crunchy but hot and incorporate sauces that we can buy or make. These subtle changes in cooking methods can entice any reluctant taste buds. Another secret trick; grate cheese on any hot food. Melted, gooey, cheese transforms any vegetable into a kid’s dream food. Even thirty years ago we put peanut butter on celery with raisins and called it ants on a log and cut up raw vegetables to dip in salad dressing.

It was my adult children who demonstrated how to grate carrot or zucchini into everything from cake, soup to spaghetti sauce with no one being the wiser or serve spaghetti sauce on hot but crunchy bean sprouts or spinach instead of wheat noodles. It’s actually fun to create new ways to sneak extra vegetables into meals.

There are two facts that kept me sane in my early years as a little kid’s chef

1. Parents should offer a new food at least three times before cautious eaters will eat more than a nibble. (My rule is that you must try at least a nibble.) Please, no pleading, bribing or threats. Simply relax and offer different foods.

2. When scientists in a British study offered toddlers whole tables of different healthy food, the little kids instinctively ate a balanced diet in the long run. Now it might be 11 bananas on one day and mainly milk the next but after a thirty-day period, two-year olds chose a perfectly balanced diet! So relax adults; just exercise a few tricks without resorting to pressure tactics and add a huge dollop of humour. and kids will eat vegetables. Trust me. I have had decades of experience.

Important mantra to repeat in the midst of a raging food battle,

“This too will pass!!!”

So, don’t bother fighting because little people will just dig in their heels. Get them to taste just a nibble smothered in a tasty dip and then let them eat a healthy alternative. Food digests better when everyone is calm. Just remember, kids do have more sensitive taste buds than we do. Have fun trying to out-wit them.

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

10 thoughts on “Gagging on Overcooked Brussel Sprouts

  1. You opened the proverbial Pandora’s box! As kids, we were handed helpings on our plates by our father and the persistent command was to eat everything on the plates. Oh, how I detested onions, parsnips, rutabagas, stuffing, fish eye soup and so on. All was not lost though! The Lord blessed us with a hungry puppy dog who sat under the table and regularly received our blessings!

    Loving your writings, Melanie. 🙂

    Like

  2. I LOVED Lima beans growing up! As with most veggies, I almost always prefer them raw! I have horror stories of sitting at the table all night. Once my sis and I both threw up at the table in the same week, that was the end of forced eating. 🙂

    Like

  3. So many long-lasting and detrimental food issues arise from this crazy method of ‘cleaning the plate’. There are so many better ways to build healthy eating habits. Setting a good example as role model is high on the list.

    Like

  4. I was an ‘on demand’ feeding mother – until the kiddos went to school – they struggled with the concept of eating at certain times, instead of just when they were hungry.
    I was grateful to learn of the ‘balanced diet’ study early on – I didn’t freak out when my kids wanted to only eat a few certain things every so often!
    🙂

    Like

      1. My dad always substituted the following:
        “You can lead a dog to water, but before you do, just remember how a wet dog smells.”
        I think that was courtesy Festus from Gunsmoke – – LOL

        Like

Leave a Reply

