Surprised by My Infant’s Love


When I ran into this quote I was surprised, surprised that it was an OLD, English proverb and surprised because I thought that I had invented this phrase.

Old English Proverb

“The soul is healed by being with children.”

2523

When I started my mothering career, I braced myself for a life of drudgery, hard work and self-sacrifice. Now mothering is hard, it really does include all those descriptions but I was surprised by joy, surprised by how much life my newborn poured into my heart. Not just affection, but deep love that touched my core self, that healed my core self.

A baby has the ability to see past surface appearances and with guileless eyes look right into our spirits, if we allow that connection to take place. I did not force interaction. In fact I had no idea that such a deep relationship existed. I was truly surprised., surprised and healed by their love.

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

8 thoughts on “Surprised by My Infant’s Love

  1. You write proverbs! That’s a nice surprise.
    Me too…nothing I was told, nothing I read, nothing I saw prepared me for immense connection I shared with my babes.
    Your children are so fortunate to have you.

    Like

  2. I had my first child out of wedlock – in a small community – and I was determined not to hide or act shameful, as I had been told at an early age that I would never have children. I was constantly amazed and cheered by how many folks shared in my joy – when I told my Mom and expressed my amazement, she said,
    “Babies will bridge divides nothing else can”
    πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

