Tears of Joy


real tears of joy

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

I have often shed tears of joy. They spring to my eyes unbidden and without warning.When a person cries because of the way they’re feeling, it’s known as emotional tears. Nobody knows exactly why we have emotional tears but one reason might be that they help us release our deepest, feelings, feelings that are often subconscious. Tears are a non-verbal way to release emotions that are pre-verbal as well. These emotions are in the ground of our being, sometimes from our childhood, connecting us to the rest of humanity and God.They are part of a field of knowing that is perhaps Jungian.

When I experience a suddenly, an encounter with love or joy, tears spring to my eyes.s Sometimes I cry because my soul is finally fulfilled. Theses are happy tears because the struggle is over, at last.                                                                                                           

Try explaining all this emotion to a husband who can’t handle illogical tears. Combine this seemingly erratic display of raw emotions with my tendency to use circular thinking and you can imagine my husband’s dilemma.

Poor man, with his logical, left-brained, straight-lined thinking. Intuitive, circular thinking is more colourful and fun than logical thinking anyway. I was recently told that I was an INFP which lifted a huge weight of guilt off me.

There are actually others out there like me who are introverted, intuitive, feeling, perceptive types. That fact helps me feel legitimate, even with my tears of joy because they are intuitive, perceptive and definitely all about feeling

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

9 thoughts on “Tears of Joy

      1. I’m happy to report that my yearly taking of the Myers-Briggs shows me more in the middle of all the classifications – I strive for mediocrity when it comes to personality tests – – LOL

        Like

Leave a Reply

