Coming Around Full Circle


When an acquaintance interviewed me three years ago for a newspaper article to run on Mother’s Day, I saw myself through the eyes of an outsider for the first time. It was almost mind-boggling to admit to her that I had spent 18 years pregnant and/or nursing babies.
young-mother-and-her-children1When she asked me if I ever regretted not using my degree, I just stared at her blankly for a full minute. I did not know how to even answer her because the thought never crossed my mind. Yet her question started me thinking; I did want to write again.Perhaps I could have started eleven years ago when  everyone was in school full-time but realistically there was simply

too much physical work involved in running a household for eleven people and helping with the farm animals and our large vegetable garden.

Surprisingly, mothering a large family has challenged me, forcing me to learn, change, heal and mature.

The unexpected bonus of embracing this unusual lifestyle

is hundreds of hilarious experiences that could only happen

when you raise nine children on a small, family farm.

My life is diametrically opposed to anything I could have imagined as a teenager.

Ironically, this strange life,

focused on motherhood, has brought me more fulfillment and joy than I ever could have imagined.

Now I have come around full circle,

just as I imagined at 16. It just took years of living a rather peculiar life before this

avid reader and oral story-teller was ready to start writing again.

Linking with Friendship Friday at Create With Joy

Friendship Friday

I'm part of Post A Day 2014

6 thoughts on “Coming Around Full Circle

  1. Melanie have you thought of writing a book? You could write about your family, with humor (which you already do) and of course the spiritual lessons you’ve learned. People would be very blessed by it!

    Like

    1. Someone else just told me the same thing today. Four people at a talk came up to me and told me to start writing. SOOO- two years ago I started blogging and then writing articles for places like Catholic Stand. I have seven chapters on our family life on a farm, funny,warm, lessons learned..still needs editing but first chapter I am thinking of self-publishing one chapter for free on Smashwords and through them on Amazon, Just have to figure it out but they have step by step instructions. Just need a great cover

      Like

      1. So coooool! I look forward to it. Don’t give too much away for free. I pray God continues to bless you with this. Maybe one of your photographs could be a cover.

        Like

Leave a Reply

