“Conceit Spoils the Finest Genius.”


Pithy wisdom from Louisa May Alcott in Little Women

“I’d rather take coffee than compliments just now.” 1fd283a07cbb368dcef837e18a58ea16

“I like good strong words that mean something…” 

“Conceit spoils the finest genius.” 

“I’ve got the key to my castle in the air, but whether I can unlock the door remains to be seen.”

“Love is a great beautifier.”

“Because they are mean is no reason why I should be. I hate such things, and though I think I’ve a right to be hurt, I don’t intend to show it

 

1934

“I want to do something splendid…something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead. I don’t know what, but I’m on the watch for it and mean to astonish you all someday.” 

“Be worthy love, and love will come.” 

“I don’t pretend to be wise, but I am observing, and I see a great deal more than you’d imagine. I’m interested in other people’s experiences and inconsistencies, and, though I can’t explain, I remember and use them for my own benefit.” 

Louisa May Alcott, Little Women

12 thoughts on ““Conceit Spoils the Finest Genius.”

      1. It’s funny, because today I was thinking a lot about humility and from there I thought about the country song.. Oh Lord it’s hard to be humble..It’s been ages since I have heard it..

        Like

      2. Are you familiar with Psalty Songbook songs? I used to love those..So fun! It’s so neat to be satisfied with simple things in life.. I purchased the children’s book Simple Gifts. I do believe you suggested it. I would like to read up on the Shaker’s.

        Like

  1. Great quotes! Thanks for sharing. It’s been a long time since I read the book. It’s been on my mind to get out the book and reread. I think I will. I think I will put that on my list of books to read this summer. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

