Happiness Depends on Perception


Our happiness depends on our perception of the world.

Even on bleak days

there are certain facts that I stand on

I am alive,

healthy

not living on the street

but in a large old, quirky house

with acres of gardens, trees and meadows.

I am still married after almost 35 years

with 9 healthy, successful adult kids and 5 grandkids

loved by my family and God,

even if I drive them crazy with my eccentricity

I have a computer,

two hands with all my fingers to type

and time to write for the first time in three decades.

reasons to rejoice

reasons that I stand on every day’

even on bad days

How you answer the old question, “Is the glass half full or half empty” really does matter. It is amazing how I can turn my misery switch on and off and my joy button on and off. It really does matter how I view the world. It is a matter of taking a step back and looking at the big picture.

Do I choose to squint and focus on the thorns or do I step back and see the beauty of the entire bush. Do I focus on every miserable detail that goes wrong in my life or do I step back and thank God for everything that is right with it.

Just aimages (32) glance up the sky above me can fill me with awe if I only take my eyes off the tiny slivers in my hand and allow the beautiful gift of God to inflame my heart with wonder

2 thoughts on “Happiness Depends on Perception

Leave a Reply

