The Joy and Pain of Self-Publishing


21f7259e050135902fd85dc21ae67519b5a419b6-thumb Echoes of the Divine is  my first e-book and it is free.  You can help me if you download this mini e-book and gave it a rating because if it is successful,  a publisher might consider my upcoming book. How about checking it out and giving me some honest feedback so I can learn. The book has received premium status already and will be listed on Amazon, Apple, Barnes and Nobles within days.

And don’t forget, I will be happy to answer any questions. Trust me, no question will sound dumb to me because I have asked them all. https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/521798

It took me a year to read the more than 100 pages of Smashwords Style Guide. However, the guide explains every step with diagrams and in ordinary terms ...but I am a technological idiot. After days of fumbling, forcing myself to work as if I was technologically intelligent, I finally self-published a short, free e-book on Smashwords.

Supposedly, this process only takes a couple of hours but I inadvertently downloaded Microsoft doc.x instead of a simple doc. file. Then,  I typed the meta tag for my name without capitals which prevented the entire thing from working. That little mistake took hours to uncover.

Link to Echoes of the DivineSmashwords – Echoes of the Divine – a book by Melanie Jean Juneau

 

Finally, my cover was one I designed on Word and took a couple of days to decide upon which version to use but I could not convert it into a jpg image. It was difficult to find an image with enough pixels on the internet.  In the end, I simply found a huge old master painting by Mary Cassatt, used Pic Monkey photo editing and slapped on a title but it looks okay.  Figuring out how to get a free ISBN  from the Canadian site called Ciss ( kiss) wasted more hours.

 

4 thoughts on “The Joy and Pain of Self-Publishing

    1. you have no idea how much I needed encouragement to pull together my ‘real book’. I have been floundering wondering how to put together funny stories, with essays with ‘spiritual reflections’. You made me realize I should not separate theses stories into separate sections or books because who I am and how I experienced children is a combination of all three perspectives. So I will do sections of ages, with all different types of writing

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

