Gratitude for Spring Flowers

It is cool outside today in Ontario, Canada (16 C) but the sun is shining. Although we are 3 to 4 weeks behind this year for gardening, I will not complain today because the trees are starting to leaf out and my spring flowers are starting to bloom. Enjoy the colour with me and let’s allow gratitude bloom in our hearts.

Everything is blooming most recklessly; if it were voices instead of colors, there would be an unbelievable shrieking into the heart of the night. ~ Letters of Rainer Maria Rilke

unnamed (2)Awake, thou wintry earth –
Fling off thy sadness!
Fair vernal flowers, laugh forth
Your ancient gladness!
~Thomas Blackburn, “An Easter Hymn”

I love spring anywhere, but if I could choose I would always greet it in a garden. ~Ruth Stout

No matter how long the winter, spring is sure to follow. ~Proverb

PicMonkey Collage

13 thoughts on “Gratitude for Spring Flowers

  1. Down here we have tulips! And we have a bunch of other ones that I have no idea what their names are. My favorites though are Morning Glories. They wrap around our mailbox.

    Like

    1. Of course what I really wanted to say is that spring is wonderful, because I can get out the mower and crank it up. The blades are ready, the oil is checked, and it starts right up. Then there is the tiller for the garden – I love to run that full throttle! What a noise. Yes there is something about spring — I just love the roar of the engines…..There is the weed whacker of course but that only makes a whirring sound. Hahahaha

      Like

  2. My daffodils seemed on a mission to bloom, despite the super-cold spring. It was as if, the rhythm of the sun caused their biological clocks to scream out their colors. Because of the cold, the blossoms lasted much longer than usual, too. What a blessing.

    Like

Leave a comment